IPv4 Classes

This architecture of IPv4 classes is called classful addressing. In classful addressing, the address space is divided into 5 classes: A, B, C, D, and E
  • IPv4 is a 32-Bit  Address.
  • Each octate is of 8-Bit
  • Total no. systems can be connected in IPv4 is 2^32

Represent IPv4 in 8-Bit Notations

How to convert Decimal to 8-Bit no. refer to ” Refer Here

Representation of classes

Class A 

  •   Were designed for large organizations with large no. of attached hosts or routers

Class B 

  •  Were designed for mid-size organizations with tens and thousands of attached hosts or routers
Class C
  • Were designed for small organizations with a small no. of attached hosts or routers

Class D

  • Were designed for multicast.
  • Multicast is the delivery of a message or information to a group of destination computers simultaneously in a single transmission from the source. Copies are automatically created in other network elements, such as routers, but only when the topology of the network requires it.

 Class E

  • Reserved for future use ( Research and Development Purposes )

Further in IPv4 Addressing : Refer Here

IP Addressing Part 1 IP Addressing Part 3